What I learnt from ‘No phone Sunday’

It’s Monday morning, that can only mean one thing … I survived No phone Sunday

Not only did I survive it, I am living today with a deeper understanding of my life. Talk about winning!?

For those who have read my last post, and I’m guessing you are not, considering it’s a 1 in 2.3 million chance, I applied a 24 hour phone ban on myself last week. I made this decision for two reasons; to heighten my level of appreciation for the blessings that surround me and to put a stop to the habitual use of my phone.

I woke on Sunday morning, like I do every other. “Dadda, I wanna go”, my two-year old know’s I will come, when she calls my name. I leave both, my wife sleeping and my phone switched off.

Within ten minutes, I experience my first urge. It’s nothing serious, just a simple thought, “has anyone bid on my online auction?.

I ignore this thought as nothing but on reflection it’s a sign that I check my phone way too much! I was in a place of bliss, laying beside my daughter’s bed, her hand in mine, and I wanted to check on online auction.

It’s time’s like this, I need a slap to slap myself in the face. Wake up kid!

No phone Sunday was a success, but this wasn’t the only learning. In the same 24 hours, I learnt:

  • My phone is not a necessity
  • I am blessed beyond my words
  • I have more free time than I appreciate
  • When I’m not concerned by taking photos of beauty, I see more beauty
  • I have a habit that needs breaking
  • I don’t need to know who reads this
  • It’s what’s offline that really matters

What started out as a phone is now a computer, diary and unfortunately a time vacuum. I mean, am I crazy to call it a phone if no one calls me?  

So again, in 6 days time it’ll be No phone Sunday, increasingly, my favourite day.

Senselessbanner

2 thoughts on “What I learnt from ‘No phone Sunday’

  1. This is something I need to do better at. Luckily my daughter calls me on it whenever she feels she doesn’t have my undivided attention. She’s only four but she’s not afraid to let you know if you aren’t meeting expectations.

    Where do you think this will go? No phone during family time maybe? A moratorium of sorts each evening while everyone is catching up? How committed can one be to this type of effort?

    • Unfortunately in today’s techno-fuelled society, we all need to sort our priorities out a little more.

      That’s awesome that your daughter pulls you up on it, if we all had courage, I’m sure we’d teach our children to pull us up on our bad habits. Then again, maybe that is the driver behind their tantrums?

      It is my hope that this is the first step in breaking my habit. I know I will still use my phone (I am replying to your message on it right now), but I don’t want to interfere with my family.

Leave a Reply

