Perspective provided in passing

It was October 3rd, 2012 when I last wrote “Ryan’s last days“. I shared about Ryan Woods’ life, and his determination to experience joy in what were his dying days.498369957_1c19cd40e4

Through his blog, Musings from the ground up, Ryan shared of his life and his determination to turn his final days into a positive movement. I used to frequently visit this blog, selfishly taking “hits of inspiration” to fuel my days.

As much as I enjoyed his blog, this is the Internet, a world of distraction. My visits became sporadic and then, non exsistent.

Prompted but my own desire to appreciate my own life more fully, I revisited his blog. His last post was October 24, I didn’t make anything of the date, someone in his situation could be excused for being sporadic.

I read on. The post, “Tears and Seizures “, the point … maintain perspective.

Here I am, a father of a two year old girl and a six week old boy struggling with going back to work, and Ryan is writing about unpredictable and almost constant seizures  For two days I’ve been on the verge of tears walking to the office thinking of my wife, alone with my precious children  and Ryan is crying uncontrollably sitting next to his children feeling as if he’s already dead.

” Sometimes when I cry, when I really cry and cry hard, I’m honestly just in search of confirmation that I’m not simply wasting time here dinking around waiting to die.”

A little perspective goes a long way.

“The thing is, I think you never feel more human than when you are dying”, Ryan knew h

is days were few but maintained perspective.

Ryan died November 14, 2012.

I didn’t know Ryan Woods, yet reading of his death brought a tear to my eye. His life, well at least the last few months were filled with more positive thoughts and actions than I feel I’ve had in my lifetime.

A father and husband to whom, all men can look up to. Ryan literally, stared death in the face, yet didn’t take a backward step. He not only loved his wife and children to the day he died, he showed it and cherished each and every moment he had with them.

Remember what’s important in your life, be aware of your emotions and above all … maintain perspective.

SENSE

Leave a Reply

