Leave the pain behind you

It’s 6:30 in the morning, I’m changing my daughters nappy when she suddenly starts to whimper. Being a father besotted with love for his daughter, I immediately look for the cause of her pain.

Is the warm winter sun shining through the window, too bright for her eyes? Maybe, she is that desperate to go to the park by_next door that she’s reduced to tears.

It’s then I see the cause…I can’t help but laugh when she points at a tiny graze on her knee (caused by falling over a week ago).

“saw nee, saw nee” she cries.

At that moment the graze was my daughters greatest concern. It stole her attention from her loving father, warm sunshine, last night’s sleep and the roof over her head.

How can she worry about a scratch when she is obviously blessed? Look up darling, look what surrounds you. You are surrounded by love yet you look down. Forget about the scars of yesterday, they cannot harm you. Look up in gratitude not down in despair.

Instead, I took her tiny leg in my hand and kissed it better (Caution, do not attempt to replace medical treatment with the “kissing it better” method).

My daughter is not yet two years old, so I’ll cut her some slack but we should know better. Do not let the pain of your past stop you from realising the beauty that’s all around!

What graze are you crying about in life?

Leave a Reply

